Welcome to Circle B at PBallProperties
Real County Historical Museum (830-232-5330) Historic items and articles displayed in period rooms depicting history of Real County area. Open Fri., Sat. 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Just off courthouse square. Admission charge.
Sabinal Canyon Museum (830-966-3747) On Main St., Utopia, TX. This museum exhibits pioneer farm implements and household items, Native American artifacts, geological exhibits, including fossils and minerals from the Sabinal River Canyon. There also is a World War II exhibit.
Open 10 a.m.–4 p.m. Sat. and 1–4 p.m. Sun.
Wildlife Art Museum (830-232-5607) Features art of taxidermy, sculpture, paintings and carvings. Open Mon. – Sat. 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. On F.M. 337, 3 blocks east of U.S. 83.
F.M. 337, both east and west, spans some of the Hill Country’s most spectacular scenery – wooded steppes and tiny secluded valleys. West to Camp Wood leads to river camps on the picturesque Nueces River. East to Vanderpool and north on F.M. 187 leads to beautiful Lost Maples Natural Area.
U.S. 83 north skirts East Frio River; 12 miles north, a roadside park offers spectacular view and picnic facilities. Texas 39 east, along Guadalupe River to Ingram is another picturesque route.
Located nearby are Hill Country, Lost Maples, and Devil’s Sinkhole State Natural Areas, and Garner and Kickapoo Cavern State Parks. Also nearby are John Nance “Cactus Jack” Garner Museum in Uvalde; the ruins of historic Mission Nuestra Señora de la Candelaria del Cañon, founded in 1749; Camp Sabinal (a U.S. Cavalry post and later Texas Ranger camp) established 1856; and Fort Inge, established 1849.
Church In The Valley Hwy 83 S, Leakey, Texas 78873 Ph. 830-232-6090
Church Of Christ Hwy 83, Leakey, Texas 78873 Ph: 830-232-6933
First Baptist Church Hwy 83, Leakey, Texas 78873 Ph: 830-232-5344
Frio Canyon Baptist Church Hwy 83 S, Leakey, Texas 78873 Ph: 830-232-5883
St Raymond Catholic Church 2nd Ave @ Mountain, Leakey, Texas 78873 Ph: 830-232-5852
Trinity Fellowship Church P.O. Box 1177, Leakey, Texas 78873-1177 Ph: 830-232-6770
United Methodist Church Market St @ 1st, Leakey Texas 78873 Ph: 830-232-6266
Vanderpool Community Church P.O. Box 508, Leakey, Texas 78873-0508 Ph: 830-966-3583
The Frio River rises in northeast Real County and flows southeast through Uvalde, Medina, Frio, La Salle, and Live Oak Counties. Totaling in length approximately 250 miles, the Frio is spring-fed in its upper section and flows through picturesque canyons. Garner State Park is located on the banks of this upper section. The waterway is a free-flowing river, since there are no major impoundments or reservoirs located along its entire course.
A map of the Frio River from Kent to Concan, Texas.
Map courtesy of Texas State Parks and Wildlife Department
Deep canyons, crystal-clear streams, high mesas, and carved limestone cliffs are the brush strokes in the geologic painting of this intriguing terrain. Many backcountry paved roads wind through canyons along streams here, offering the traveler a different pace from the freeway rush.
The rock formations in this area are early Cretaceous in age, deposited over millions of years in warm, shallow seas that once covered Texas. The Glen Rose formation, a collection of limestone, shale, marl, and siltstone beds, was deposited along the shifting margins of the sea where dinosaurs roamed in great numbers, leaving their footprints in the sands. The Cretaceous Sea then spread over Texas, depositing the Edwards Formation (limestone), over the Glen Rose beds. This sequence of strata, Glen Rose below, Edwards above, is found throughout this area.
History & Information:
Leakey, (pronounced LAY-key) is in one of most scenic and picturesque areas of the rugged Edwards Plateau. Leakey, the county seat of Real County, is on the Frio River southwest of the confluence of the East and West branches at the intersection of Farm roads 336, 337, and 1120 and U.S. Highway 83, in the southeastern part of the county. Elevations range from 1,500 to 2,400 feet with deep, dramatic canyons cut by the Frio and Nueces rivers.
Archaeological excavations in the Frio Canyon region revealed Paleo-American, Archaic, and Neo-American occupations. Later, several Native American tribes, including Lipan Apache, Comanche, and Tonkawa inhabited or traversed the area.
Anglo-American settlement of the area began in 1856 when John Leakey, his wife Nancy, and a few others settled near a spring along the banks of the Frio River. Shingles and lumber were produced from the abundant cypress and cedar trees. In its first few years, the community was a lonely outpost that was subject to frequent Indian raids, which continued until 1882. Growth accelerated after the Civil War as new families arrived. In 1883, A.G. Vogel moved a post office from the community of Floral to Leakey. That same year, the Texas State Legislature created Edwards County and designated Leakey as the county seat less than a year later. 1883 was also the year that the area’s first school was established on land donated by the Leakeys. A new school building was completed in 1890. In 1891, the Edwards County seat was moved from Leakey to Rocksprings. During the early 1900s, ranching superseded lumber, cotton cultivation, and corn production in importance to the local economy. The raising of Angora goats was a major component of the ranching industry. In 1902, the school in Leakey had a total enrollment of 102 students. The town’s population was estimated to be 318 in 1904.
Real County was created from parts of Edwards, Bandera, and Kerr Counties in the spring of 1913, with Leakey as the county seat. In 1919, Real County Judge Ed Kelly established the Leakey Independent School District. By the mid-1920s, the population had declined to around 120. A larger school building was completed in 1930. Soon after, several nearby schools, including West Frio, Cypress Creek, Rio Frio, Exile, Stanford, Dry Frio, and Harper were consolidated with Leakey schools.
Leakey was formally incorporated on June 11, 1951. The population fluctuated during the latter half of the 20th century. Leakey was home to 450 people in 1960, 393 in 1970, 468 in 1980, 399 in 1990. By 2000, there were 387 residents living in Leakey. The population grew again to 425 according to the last census in 2010.
Camping and hunting are popular with Leakey visitors. Game birds and animals include white-tailed deer, wild turkey, mourning dove, quail, squirrel, javelina, rabbits, and raccoons.
During the spring and summer Leakey visitors enjoy tubing the crystal clear waters of the Frio River, and in the fall, seeing the beautiful hues of red and gold of autumn leaves on the tree-covered Leakey hills.
July average high is 97; January average low is 37. May and October are the wettest months.